< back to latest

Carlos Suárez Interview

What’s your favorite spot/location to be active?
Pyrénées, Alps and big walls all over the world.
How do you prepare for a project/contest (info/training/nutrition)?
To train for my next project whether is climbing, alpinism or a BASE jump, I spend most my time doing that activity. This means either lots of time in the climbing gym, running or at skydiving zones.
What are your biggest accomplishments?
I think it’s that I´ve been able to climb 8a (5.13b) without rope but also climb an 8000 meter peak. Also, I’ve been combining climbing and BASE jumping by doing FREE BASE in Riglos.
What are your next goals (related to your sport)?
I’m going to Greenland next summer and we want to climb and jump one of the biggest big walls around. It’s 1200 meters!
Who do you look up to, who motivates you?
Usually what motivates me is doing great activities and writing about them. I’ve written four books already. Right now I am also very motivated to bring adidas outdoor to Spain.
Who is your favorite person to hang out with/be active with?
There are many good climbers that I’ve climbed with. Someday I would like to climb with Huber brothers.

What is your ‘2nd’ sport (not only outdoor activities)?
Golf.
What’s your favorite thing to do on a day off?
Eat a lot and watch a movie!
What’s your favorite adidas product and why?
As for footwear, my favorite is the Terrex Fast. In apparel it’s hard to say. It’s either the Feather jacket, down jacket, or hooded soft shell jacket, all of them Terrex.
What’s your favorite food?
Tika masala and rice!