< back to latest

Thomas "Shorty" Tauporn Interview

What’s your favorite spot/location to be active?
For me Arco is one of the nicest places. You can climb, drink some coffee, talk to other climbers or just do nothing.

How do you prepare for a project/contest (info/training/nutrition)?
Usually I train all year round. Only in winter I take some time for recovery. For some really important comps like the World Championships or a very important World Cup I prepare in a more intensive way.

What are your biggest accomplishments?
I finished second in the overall ranking of the World Championships in Arco last year. And in 2009 I won the youth world championships in Edinburgh.

What are your next goals (related to your sport)?
This year, I want to be on some podiums in the world cup. Especially, at the World Championships in France I want be successful. For this I really hope that I can handle my studies with my training.

Who do you look up to, who motivates you?
I don’t have a real hero, I think everyone has some good qualities.

Who is your favorite guy to hang out with/be active with?
I’m happy when I can spend some time with my girlfriend, I can always laugh with her.

What’s your ‘2nd‘ sport (not only outdoor activities)?
Unfortunately, I’m really not the biggest sports talent, except for climbing. In school I always got some bad marks in sports :-)

What’s your favorite thing to do on a day off?
I like it to hang out with my old friends from school, we like to do some barbecue or just go to a pub.

What’s your favorite adidas product and why?
I really like the mountain pant (long and short). It is very comfortable and perfect for climbing and outdoor activities but the main thing is...it looks great.

What’s your favorite food?
Basically, I almost eat everything. My favorite food…I think, it is good food my grandma cooks.